Sidebar

Magazine menu

28
Fri, Aug

Colquhoun-Square-w

HELENSBURGH has always been a popular destination for day trippers and holidaymakers, despite its variable weather. 

The visitors have been vital to the burgh’s economy and this was just as true a century ago. A Helensburgh guide book from the early 1900s noted: “Tourist people are no fools; well they know good summer quarters as the troutling knows the pools.”

Laggary-House-1-wA SEARCH has been launched for information about one of the stunning mansions in Rhu, Laggary House, and its occupants.

The B-listed building which towers over the Laggary Park development in what was originally its grounds is an Italianate house with towers, in honey-coloured sandstone, and now contains four flats.

1860s-Helensburgh-map

A REPORT compiled for Helensburgh Town Council on the state of the streets in the town 1845 gives a fascinating insight to the early days.

victoria-hallONE of Helensburgh's most impressive buildings is the Victoria Hall, halfway up Sinclair Street.

It was built at the end of the 19th century and has been added to and improved on several occasions.

the-barracks

A GROUP of buildings known as ‘The Barracks’ once stood in Helensburgh's James Street, on the site now occupied by a children's play area. Built around the middle of the 19th century, they became notorious as a trouble spot.

Local historian and Heritage Trust director Alistair McIntyre discovered that local newspapers of the time frequently reported on disturbances which happened there.

Drumfork-HouseHELENSBURGH’S oldest house is believed to be Drumfork House at Colgrain, said by some to have been built in 1720 and today hidden behind a screen of trees and beside the primary school.

However, according to a local historian, the late George R.Stocks, whose first job after leaving school was working in the then rather more extensive grounds, it was built for John Stevenson, a Glasgow merchant, in 1748.

collychippen_cottageA DERELICT cottage overlooking Loch Lomond at Luss sold at auction to an unknown buyer for £58,000 in May 2008.

The asking price for Collychippen Farm Cottage in Glen Luss, a stone shell, had been £40,000.

Carbeth-House-wA RHU mansion built by Madeleine Smith’s father was offered for sale in July 2008 with an asking price of £795,000.

Carbeth House is high above the village of Rhu and has superb views over the Gareloch and the Clyde.

lyntonONE of Helensburgh’s most splendid mansions, Lynton at 6 Upper Colquhoun Street, was offered for sale for over £1.5 million in the summer of 2008.

Designed by William Leiper and built in 1908, it contains a reception hall, four reception rooms, and six bedrooms, and is set in an acre of gardens.

ardencaplecastleONLY one tower of Helensburgh’s Ardencaple Castle now remains, but it is still a beacon which calls members of the Clan MacAulay from all over the world.

Most of the ancient castle was demolished in July 1959, but it is very close to the hearts of clan members no matter which variant of the spelling of their name they use.

Malig_mill_dam

mill_behind_hallONE of the oldest relics of Helensburgh’s history can be found in Hermitage Park, at the rear of the Victoria Halls — yet surprisingly little is known about it.

It is the remains of the Millig Mill, a corn mill thought to have been in operation from the early 1700s, and known at that time as the Malig Mill. Helensburgh itself was alternatively known as Milnliggs, Malig, Millig or Milligs.

lightning161

THE best picture ever taken in the Helensburgh district of fork lightning striking was shot one very stormy night on July 26 1985.

The photographer was a 16 year-old graphic design student who was watching the storm and decided to record it for posterity.

More Articles …