×

Warning

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 62

The-Hermitage-w

THE STORY of Helensburgh’s Hermitage House goes back to 1838, when Robert Fulton Alexander, a merchant in Glasgow, feued two sizeable portions of land in the Barony of Milligs from the landowner, Sir James Colquhoun.

These pieces of land were presumably next to each other, and they were included in the same land deed.

Shandon-Hydro-w

WEST SHANDON HOUSE, the home of the father of Clyde shipbuilding, Robert Napier, was Helensburgh and district’s biggest and best mansion.

The imposing structure was built over a period of years in the mid-19th century, and in its later years became Shandon Hydro.

Colquhoun-Square-colour

AN ICONIC feature of Helensburgh is Colquhoun Square.

That the Square was intended to form a distinctive feature right at the outset of the infant town is clearly shown by its presence on the earliest existing street plans, dating from the start of the 19th century.

Hermitage-House-w

HERMITAGE PARK was originally called Cramb Park after the Cramb Family who owned Hermitage House, which stood where the pagoda now stands.

The Hermitage name is supposed to come from a hermit’s well that lies in the north east of the park.

War-memorial-wHELENSBURGH pays tribute to the fallen of two World Wars and other conflicts on Remembrance Sunday.

Milton-Place-09.12.12-wONE of the lesser known addresses in Helensburgh is Milton Place.

It has the unusual distinction of having been owned by only two businesses in a century.

Helensburgh-Infirmary-wONE of the most attractive buildings in the east end of Helensburgh is the Victoria Infirmary, built in 1895.

The work of one of the town’s leading architects, William Leiper, the former cottage hospital looks in fine condition from the outside, but inside only the ground floor is in use as part of today’s Victoria Integrated Health Care Centre.

More Articles ...