×

Warning

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 62

Cardross-seat-wPEOPLE driving through Cardross give it barely a glance, if they notice it at all.

Villagers walk past it many a time without giving it a thought, except when they want to rest weary legs.

Hartfield-House-wTHE handsome mansion Inverclyde at Cove — origi­nally Hartfield House — had a very colourful history.

Built by architect Campbell Douglas in 1859, it was used for a variety of purposes before being demolished.

TIME is running out for Argyll and Bute Council’s imposing planning offices at Blairvadach, Shandon, overlooking the Gareloch.

Sometime in 2015 its staff will transfer to the bright and spacious new local council HQ being built on East Clyde Street, Helensburgh, overlooking the Clyde, as part of a community complex embracing the old Clyde Street School.

TWO streets in the Greenfield Housing Estate in the village of Garelochhead bear the names of village women — Mary Browne Walk and Francis Hendry Walk.

Mary Browne and Francis Hendry are remembered as great friends and benefactors of the village. When people ask about the names, there is quite a story to tell.

Garemount-Shandon-wTHE Helensburgh district is a very attractive holiday destination — and has been for many years.

That is the reason the area had so many holiday homes — most involved in the Fresh-Air Fortnight scheme.

Hillside-Home-wTHE small village of Clynder once boasted four houses serving as holiday homes.

One was Hillside Holiday Home, while three others comprised The Grove Holiday Homes.

Lady-Helen-Colquhoun-wHELENSBURGH has a fascinating history . . . and part of it is the fact that it can be traced from its beginning in 1776 through the aspirations of one family, the Colquhouns of Luss.

A pleasant line of research is to walk around the town noting the street names while being aware of names that had been proposed by succeeding lairds and their architects, and pondering why some had not been accepted.

More Articles ...