×

Warning

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 62

centenary_monument007IN the year 1903, in honour of the Helensburgh's Centenary as a Burgh of Barony the previous year, Sir James Colquhoun of Luss gifted a memorial in the form of a Celtic Cross.

On it is carved: 1802 Henry Bell Provost, 1902 Samuel Bryden Provost.

granary2THE old Granary was a picturesque building on Helensburgh seafront. It was originally a malt barn and, for a time, contained an unlicenced room, selling alcohol.

The image on the right was taken around the turn of the century. It is 4pm and there are crowds around the bandstand being entertained. The Old Parish Church clock tower stands behind the Granary buildings.