A DAMAGED glacial boulder from 10,000 years ago catches the eye of walkers on the popular Upland Walkway footpath near its junction with the Highlandman’s Road on the hillside above Helensburgh and Rhu.
But as more and more walkers use the footpath, concern is growing about the need to preserve the relic of the past.
A SEARCH has been launched for information about one of the stunning mansions in Rhu, Laggary House, and its occupants.
The B-listed building which towers over the Laggary Park development in what was originally its grounds is an Italianate house with towers, in honey-coloured sandstone, and now contains four flats.
ONE of Helensburgh's most impressive buildings is the Victoria Hall, halfway up Sinclair Street.
It was built at the end of the 19th century and has been added to and improved on several occasions.
HELENSBURGH has always been a popular destination for day trippers and holidaymakers, despite its variable weather.
The visitors have been vital to the burgh’s economy and this was just as true a century ago. A Helensburgh guide book from the early 1900s noted: “Tourist people are no fools; well they know good summer quarters as the troutling knows the pools.”
A REPORT compiled for Helensburgh Town Council on the state of the streets in the town 1845 gives a fascinating insight to the early days.
A GROUP of buildings known as ‘The Barracks’ once stood in Helensburgh's James Street, on the site now occupied by a children's play area. Built around the middle of the 19th century, they became notorious as a trouble spot.
Local historian Alistair McIntyre discovered that local newspapers of the time frequently reported on disturbances which happened there.