HELENSBURGH pays tribute to the fallen of two World Wars and other conflicts on Remembrance Sunday.
AN ICONIC feature of Helensburgh is Colquhoun Square.
That the Square was intended to form a distinctive feature right at the outset of the infant town is clearly shown by its presence on the earliest existing street plans, dating from the start of the 19th century.
HERMITAGE PARK was originally called Cramb Park after the Cramb Family who owned Hermitage House, which stood where the pagoda now stands.
The Hermitage name is supposed to come from a hermit’s well that lies in the north east of the park.
A MASTERPLAN was proposed in 2012 for future development of the area around Helensburgh pier. It is an area which features heavily in the history of the burgh.
Around the time that Helensburgh came into being, there seem to have been several landing places in the vicinity, if not actually proper piers.
ONE of the lesser known addresses in Helensburgh is Milton Place.
It has the unusual distinction of having been owned by only two businesses in a century.
ONE of the most attractive buildings in the east end of Helensburgh is the Victoria Infirmary, built in 1895.
The work of one of the town’s leading architects, William Leiper, the former cottage hospital looks in fine condition from the outside, but inside only the ground floor is in use as part of today’s Victoria Integrated Health Care Centre.
HELENSBURGH is full of attractive mansions designed by leading Scottish architects — but the one which attracts thousands of visitors from all over the world is Charles Rennie Mackintosh’s iconic The Hill House.
Today the large grey building at the top of Upper Colquhoun Street — described as “universally regarded as Mackintosh’s finest domestic creation” — is the property of and run by the National Trust for Scotland and is open to the public daily from April 1 to October 31.